Wednesday, June 21, 1978.

The Assembly met at 9.30 A.M. with the Speaker in the Chair.


        Starred Question No.1 with supplementaries thereto were disposed of.


        The House passed Grants Nos.1 - 10.

        Cut Motion No.1 on Grant No.5 and Cut Motion No.1 in respect of Grant No.6 were withdrawn by the movers after adequate reply from the Ministers concerned.

        Cut Motion No.2 on Grant No.5 was not moved as the No.1, while out Cut Motion No.2 in respect of Grant No.6 was deemed to have been withdrawn owing to the absence of the member when the question was put.

        Speaking on Cut Motion No.1 in respect of Grant No.5, Shri. D.N. Joshi strongly complained that many eligible voters were excluded from the electoral rolls for the last Assembly elections although in the previous year the names of those elections although in the previous year the names of those voters found place in the roll during the Parliamentary elections. He was supported by Shri. B.K. Roy (MULF) who contended that there was an element of party politics in conducting the enumerations which resulted in exclusion of certain select groups from the electoral rolls.

        Shri. Mukul Das (IND.), Shri. U Kharbuli (MULF), Shri. Maham Singh (MULF) and Shri. Reidson Momin (MULF) supported the motion, while Shri. S.P. Swer (ULP) spoke against it. Shri. Kharbuli and Shri. Maham Singh attributed the lapses in conducting the enumeration, largely to the fact that the enumerators were appointed purely on ad hoc basis which did not make them to their work with due sense of responsibility.

        Replying to the discussion the Chief Minister, Shri. D.D. Pugh, stated that the work of preparing the electoral rolls by the process of intensive revision was carried out under the direction and control of the Election Commission. He stated that in the preparation of electoral rolls not only names of non-tribal voters had been left out, excluded or deleted by mistakes but also those of a large number of tribals as well. He denied that this was the outcome of State Government policy in the matter of election. He apprised the House that the suggestion regarding appointment of enumerators on permanent basis was receiving the attention of the Election Commission.

        In course of discussion on Cut Motion No.1 on Grant No.6, Shri. Mukul Das (IND.) pointed out that there was large scale encroachment in the District of Garo Hills from Goalpara District of Assam particularly in the riverine area comprising the banks of the Jingjiram river and mouza Nos.6, 7 and 8.

        Shri. Maham Singh (MULF), Shri. Akramozzaman (MULF) and Shri. E.K. Mawlong (ULP) also took part in the discussion.

        The Minister for Revenue, Shri. M.N. Majaw, informed the House that the Government was seized of the matter and that the Government of Assam had already agreed to a joint survey and demarcation of the Jingjiram river.

        Shri. D.N. Joshi was highly critical of the Government notification banning the transfer of land from tribals to non-tribals and between non-tribals in Meghalaya. he was supported by Shri. B.K. Roy who maintained that such a measure was not necessary considering the safeguard already guaranteed to the members of the Scheduled Tribes under the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution. Shri. Akramozzaman also shared this view.

        Replying to the discussion, the Minister for Law, Shri. M.N. Majaw, stated that the said notification was in full consonance with the Meghalaya Land Transfer (Regulation) Act passed by the previous Government and duly assented to by the President of India. He maintained that the measure was necessary to avoid further alienation of tribal lands in the State. He also apprised the House that inheritance did not come under the purview of the Act.

        The House was adjourned at 1.25 P.M. till 9.30 A.M. on Thursday, June 22, 1978.


Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.