Tuesday, March 11, 1980

The Assembly met at 9.30 A.M. with the Speaker in the Chair.

        The day was devoted for transaction of Private members' business.


        Starred question No.2 and unstarred question No.11 were disposed of with supplementaries thereto.

2.    ZERO HOUR :

        Shri. M.N. Majaw complained that the land compensation case for a portion of the Mawphlang-Balat Road had not yet been settled even after the lapse of 26 years. He wanted to know the latest position as regards this case.

        The Minister for Revenue, Shri. B. Pakem, informed the House that various attempts were being made by the Government to solve the problem of delayed cases of compensation.


        Shri. M.N. Majaw called the attention of the Minister for Civil Supplies to a news-item in 'Ropeca' of February 27, 1980, published under the caption 'Meghalaya got sufficient supply of petrol' and wanted to know the causes of shortage of petroleum products in the State.

        The Minister for Civil Supplies, Shri. Maham Singh, admitted that the figures quoted by the said news paper were correct, but maintained his stand that the quantity of petroleum products received during the period as indicated in the report was far below the actual requirement of the State.


        The following motion moved by Shri. M.N. Majaw was adopted :

    "That this House, having decided on the 4th of March, 1980 to refer the Meghalaya (Extension and Application of the Bengal Eastern Frontier Regulation) (Inner Line) Bill, 1979 to a Select Committee, hereby approves the constitution of the Committee with the following members :-

(i) Shri. B.B. Lyngdoh, Chief Minister - Chairman.
(ii) Shri. Maham Singh, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, etc. - Member.
(iii) Dr. B. Pakem, Minister for Revenue, etc. - Member.
(iv) Shri. P.R. Kyndiah, Leader of the Opposition. - Member.
(v) Capt. W.A. Sangma, M.L.A. - Member.
(vi) Shri. S.D.D. Nichols Roy, M.L.A. - Member.
(vii) Shri. B.W. Momin, M.L.A. - Member.
(viii) Shri. M.N. Majaw, M.L.A. - Member.
(ix) Shri. Mozibar Rahman, M.L.A. - Member.


        (a) The following members took part in the discussion on Resolution No.1 of the Balloted List which was moved by Shri. P.R. Kyndiah, Leader of the Opposition on the 4th March, 1980 :-

(i) Shri. E.K. Mawlong;
(ii) Shri. S.P. Swer;
(iii) Shri. E. Iawphniaw;
(iv) Shri. Tylli Kyndiah;
(v) Shri. Mukul Das;
(vi) Shri. G. Mylliemngap;
(vii) Shri. S.D.D. Nichols-Roy;
(viii) Shri. Alfrien Marak.

        In reply the Chief Minister, Shri. B.B. Lyngdoh, stated that there was sizeable increase in the number of electors for the last Parliamentary elections which compared to those of 1952. He stressed the point that it was a question of deciding upon a base year to solve the problem of deletion of the names of foreign nationals from the Voters' List. On the suggestion of the Chief Minister, the House agreed to defer the decision on the fate of this resolution to a later date to allow time to the members representing different shades of opinion to consider the issue informally at greater depth.

        (b) Resolution No.2 was not moved.

        (c) Shri. E.K. Mawlong moved :

    "In order to ensure that the administration comes closer to the people, this House recommends that a separate Administrative Unit be created comprising areas lying in the South eastern part of the Ri-Bhoi Sub-Division".

        He made a strong plea for creation of the new Administrative Unit on the ground that the areas concerned were most backward and that for all practical purpose the Sub-divisional headquarters at Nongpoh was too far for the people of the areas.

        The following members also participated in the discussion :-

(i) Shri. M.N. Majaw;
(ii) Shri. S. Kalwing;
(iii) Shri. G. Mylliemngap;
(iv) Shri. J.D. Pohrmen;
(v) Shri. Medras Mylliem; and
(vi) Shri. E. Iawphniaw.


        The House was adjourned till 9.30 A.M. on March 12, 1980.


Meghalaya Legislative Assembly