Tuesday, March 25, 1980


        The Assembly met at 9.30 A.M. with the Speaker in the Chair.

        The day was devoted for transaction of private members' business.


        Unstarred questions Nos.88 to 98 were disposed of with supplementaries.


        Shri. E.K. Mawlong, called the attention of the Minister for Youth and Sports to the news-item published in the Assam Tribune on March 9, 1980, under the caption "Shillong NSCA remains closed for 20 months".

        In reply the Minister for Youth and Sports, Shri. B. Pakem, stated that the NSCA club premises were undergoing extensive repairs and, therefore, no regular tournaments were possible till the renovation was completed.


        The Deputy Chief Minister and Minister for Finance, Shri. S.D. Khongwir, caused the Report of the Meghalaya pay Commission, 1979 with the Government Resolution thereon to be laid on the Table.


        (a) The Minister for Agriculture, Shri. P.G. Momin, gave his reply to the discussion on the following resolution which was moved by the Leader of the Opposition, Shri. P.R. Kyndiah, on the 18th March, 1980 :-


"Taking into consideration the plight of potato growers in the State caused by un-economic prices they receive for their produce, this House calls upon the State Government to constitute a Potato Marketing Corporation."

        The Minister informed the House that the Meghalaya State Co-operative Marketing and Consumers' Federation was already engaged in the task of procurement and marketing of agricultural produce including potato and hence the Government did not feel the immediate need of constituting a corporation for marketing the potato. He further informed the House that Government was contemplating introduction of a piece of legislation to regulate agricultural produce market.

        The resolution was thereafter withdrawn.

        (b) Resolution No.7 in the balloted list was not moved.

        (c) Shri. E. Iawphniaw moved :

    "This House having taken into note of the serious and uninterrupted influx of foreign infiltrants into Meghalaya during the period from 1970-72, does hereby call upon the State Government to urge upon the Central Government to take immediate steps to ascertain if all the employees serving in the offices of the Central Government stationed in Meghalaya are Indian citizens".

         The following members also spoke either for or against the resolution.

(i) Shri. L. Kharlukhi;
(ii) Shri. M.N. Majaw;
(iii) Shri. D.N. Joshi;
(iv) Shri. B.K. Roy.

        The Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Shri. Maham Singh, speaking on behalf of the Chief Minister, informed the House that the verification of antecedents  and nationality of all persons appointed in Central Government Offices in Meghalaya was always done by the State Government Machinery. However he assured the House that Government would not hesitate to cause investigation of any doubtful cases if specific instances were brought to its notice.

        The resolution was later withdrawn.

        (d) Shri. E.K. Mawlong moved :

    "This House urge upon the Government of India to stop the construction of the Military Complex at Rangmen and shift it to another part of the country in consideration of the fact that this complex would and to the influx of outsiders into the State and thus disturb the population balance of the State."

        He apprised the House that the proposed complex which involved an area of 3,100 acres of agricultural land was acquired as far back as 1965 for meeting some emergency at that time. He felt that in view of the changed situation the complex would only contribute to more influx from outside the State and disturb the population balance.

        The following members also shared the views of the mover :-

(i) Shri. M.N. Majaw;
(ii) Shri. Rowell Lyngdoh;
(iii) Shri. G. Mylliemngap;
(iv) Shri. S.D.D. Nichols Roy.

        The discussion was inconclusive for want of time.


        The House was adjourned by the presiding Chairman, Shri. Rowell Lyngdoh, till 9.30 A.M. on Wednesday, March 26, 1980.

Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.