The House met at 10 a.m. with the Speaker in the Chair. Immediately after the Speaker called the House to Order, he made an announcement to the House of the death of late Morarji Desai, Former Prime Minister of India and he requested the Minister incharge Parliamentary Affairs to enlighten the House on this.

        Shri J.D. Pohrmen, Minister incharge Parliamentary Affairs apprised the House that as a mark of respect to the passing away of former Prime Minster, late Morarji Desai, the Government has decided that all office establishments, schools and institutions in the State shall remain closed for two days on 11th April, 1995 and 12th April, 1995 and that seven days State's mourning will be observed throughout the State from today the 11th April, 1995.

        The Speaker, thereafter, sought the opinion from both sides of the House as to what should be done with the business listed for the day.

        Shri B.B. Lyngdoh, the Leader of Opposition suggested that only the question hour should be disposed of during the day and the rest of the business be deferred till tomorrow the 12th April, 1995 and the House should stand adjourned as a token of respect to the departed public leader.

        The Chief Minister endorsed the opinion of the Leader of Opposition and suggested that the business listed for today will be taken up tomorrow and that the House will reassemble at 3.30 p.m. to dispose of these business.

        Shri H.S. Lyngdoh, opined that for today only the Obituary reference should be taken up as a mark of respect to the departed soul after which, the House should be adjourned and suggested that the remaining business of today be taken up tomorrow.

        Hearing the opinion expressed by the Leaders from both sides of the House, the Speaker ruled that the House will take up only obituary reference today. The remaining business scheduled for today will be taken up at 3.30 p.m. ( Afternoon ) on 12th April, 1995. The House will have two sittings tomorrow i.e. 10 a.m. to 2 p.m; 3.30 p.m.  to 6 p.m.


        The House mourned the death of late Morarji Desai, Former Prime Minister of India.

        The Leader of the House, Shri Salseng C. Marak initiated the obituary reference. Other participants included Shri B.B. Lyngdoh, Leader of Opposition, Shri H.S. Lyngdoh, Shri A.H. Scott Lyngdoh, Shri J.D. Pohrmen and the Speaker, Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.

        ( The House observed two minutes silence as a mark of respect to the departed soul ).


        The House rose at 10.45 a.m. to meet again at 10 a.m. tomorrow the 12th April, 1995.


Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.