(Thursday, the 25th June 1998 )

        The House met at 10 a.m. with the Hon'ble Speaker in the Chair. The day was devoted for the transaction of Government Business.


        Starred Questions Nos.11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22,  with supplementaries and No 14 without supplementary, replied. Unstarred Questions Nos. 31 to 35 to which written replies given, laid on the tables.


        The Speaker, informed the House that yesterday, he had received one letter form some members of this August House. One letter was received by him at 10 p.m. last night submitted by some messengers sent by Mrs. M. War. Then again, round about 10.30 p.m. he also received another letter from Shri H.S. Lyngdoh and again, this morning he had received one letter from Shri H.S. Lyngdoh and at 11.30 a.m. again, he had received another letter from Shri M. Suchiang complaining against one member of this House and for the benefit of all the hon. Members, he read out the letters one by one and before he could give his opinion and arrive at any decision on these two cases, he gave full opportunity to the members of both sides to have their deliberations on this.

        Shri D.D. Lapang., L.O. Shri T.N. Marak, Shri C.R. Marak Minister i/c Agriculture, Shri K. Syiem, Shri H.S. Lyngdoh Forest Minister, Shri A.H. Scott Lyngdoh, Home Minister, Shri R.G. Lyngdoh, Shri K.C. Boro, Shri O.N. Chyrmang, Shri M. Danggo, Shri P.M. Syiem, P.H.E. Minister, Shri H.B. Dan. Parliamentary Affaires Minister, Mrs. M. War, Shri T.H. Rangad Information Minister and Dr. Mukul Sangma took part and made their individual submissions.


        Making his observation, the Speaker, quoted from the relevant rules of Paras of the Tenth Schedule to the Constitution and citing instances from the previous cases of defection in the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly, he stated that the contention of Mrs. War was that she had mentioned only of the split in the legislature party and nothing was mentioned by her of the split of the original political party nor any resolution was adopted in any of the meeting of supporters as claimed by her that all active members, primary members and office bearers had been with her till yesterday and therefore, based on these facts and papers placed before him and after a careful examination of these papers, he was prima-facie convinced that there were valid reasons for evoking the provisions of the Tenth Schedule. However, he added that at the moment he would not like to take extreme steps in this matter by disqualifying any elected members although he has the power as per para 6 of the Tenth Schedule without giving the opportunity for her to defend herself and as such, for the time being, he said that he had no option but to pass this interim order placing Mrs. M. War under suspension also her voting right till a final order is issued by him in this regard. 

        As regards the second case relating to Shri M.M. Danggo, he stated that this case requires a thorough study whether it has attracted the provisions of the Tenth Schedule or not and hence, he reserved his ruling on this.


        The Speaker informed the House that four nomination were received till 4 p.m. yesterday two of which were in favour of Shri R.L. Tariang whereas the other two were in favour of Shri E.D. Marak. Since all the nominations were found valid and no withdrawal of candidature had been received, he ordered that the House should proceed straight with the election of the Deputy Speaker. The process of election thereafter began.

        The following was the result :-

        The total no. of votes = 58 out of which, Shri E.D. Marak, polled 28 votes and Shri R.L Tariang 30 votes.

        Shri R.L. Tariang, was declared duly elected to the post of Deputy Speaker and he was later on conducted to his seat in the House by the leader of the House, the deputy leader of the opposition amidst thumping of desks and applause.


        Shri B.B. Lyngdoh, Chief Minister took the floor first to felicitate the Deputy Speaker elected.

        Other members who also felicitated Shri R.L. Tariang, the newly elected Deputy Speaker were (1) Shri D.D. Lapang, Leader of the opposition, (2) Shri S. C. Marak (3) Shri C.B. Marak (4) Shri O.N. Chyrmang (5) Shri H.S. Lyngdoh, Forest Minister (6) Shri A.H. Scott Lyngdoh, Planning Minister (7) Shri Sujit Sangma (8) Shri Martin M. Danggo (9) Dr. Mukul Sangma (10) Shri E.D. Marak (11) Shri K. C. Boro (12) Shri T.N. Marak (13) Shri D.N. Joshi (14) Smti R. Warjri, Urban Affairs Minister and (15) The Hon' le Speaker, Shri E.K. Mawlong.

        Giving a brief reciprocal address to the House on his elimination to this high office, Shri R.L. Tariang, Deputy Speaker, elected assured to do his utmost to maintain the decorum and dignity of the House in the discharge of his duty and to exercise all fairness without partiality in the conduct of the proceedings. He called for the cooperation of the members to work for the upliftment of the State.


        Shri C.B. Marak did not move the motion of no-confidence tabled by him against the Council Minister headed by Shri B.B. Lyngdoh, which was scheduled for discussion today.


        Shri O.N. Chyrmang moved motion No.1 :-

        "This House do now discuss the need to upgrade the Khliehriat Civil Sub-Division into a District".

        Since the time was up, the deliberations were inconclusive and he will continue on the next day.


        The House rose at 2 p.m. and stood adjourned till 10 a.m. on Friday the 26th June, 1998.


Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.