(Friday, the 19th March, 1999 )

        The House met at 10 a.m. with the hon. Speaker in the Chair. The day was devoted for transaction of Government Business.


        At 10 a.m., the Hon. Speaker announced that accompanied by the Chief Minister and the Secretary of the Assembly, he would receive the Governor who was likely to arrive at 10.05 a.m.

        (The House resumed at 10.05 a.m. and the Governor read out the Address).

        On completion of the Governor's Address, Shri Tonsing Marak moved a motion of thanks to the Governor which was seconded by Shri K. Susngi. However, Shri C.R. Marak also moved a motion of amendment to the Governor's Address  which was admitted by the Hon. Speaker.

        The  Hon. Speaker then announced that there would be a Tea Break in honour of the Governor at the lawn of the Assembly and requested all the members of the House and the Officers and the Press to join the Tea Party.

        (At 11.45. The House re-assemble )

Announcement from the Chair 

        Hon. Speaker read out the Report of the Business Advisory Committee which was placed  on the floor of the House. Shri D.N. Joshi, Minister, Parliamentary Affairs then moved a motion seeding approval of the House on the allocation of time proposal by the Business Advisory Committee, the motion was put to vote and carried. The Hon. Speaker  then announced the names of the Panel of Chairman as follows :-

        1. Shri Tonsing Marak

        2. Shri H.S. Lyngdoh

        3. Shri T.H. Rangad

        4. Shri Kyrmen Susngi

Government Business :

        Shri A.H. Scott Lyngdoh, Minister, Finance, laid the Contingency Fund (Amendment) Ordinance, 1999 on the table of the House Shri D.N. Joshi, Minister for Parliamentary Affairs and the member of the Rule Committee presented the Report of the Committee for setting up of the Departmentally Related Standing Committee and Budget Committee.

        Shri D.D. Lapang, Minister  Industries laid the Annual Report of Mawmluh Cherra Cements Ltd. for the year 1995-96.

Obituary References 

        The House took up the Obituary references on the sad demise of Shri G.G. Swell, Shri Jackman Marak, Shri Jor Manik Syiem, Shri P.T. Jamir and Shri Chandrashakara Mallikarjuna. In this obituary, Shri B.B. Lyngdoh, Shri D.D. Lapang, Shri H.S. Lyngdoh, Shri Sanbor Swell, Shri K.C. Boro, Smti R. Warjri and lastly Shri E.K. Mawlong, Hon. Speaker took part. All the members express their profound sorrow at the death of these great outstanding personalities.

        The House then observed 2 minutes silence as a mark of respect to the departed souls.


        The Hon. Speaker announced the adjournment of the House till Monday, the 22nd March, 1999 at 10 a.m.


Meghalaya Legislative Assembly