( Tuesday, the 20th June, 2000 )

        The House met at 10 a.m. with the Hon'ble Deputy Speaker in the Chair. The day was devoted for the transaction of Government Business.


        Starred questions Nos. 6, 7, 8, 9 and 10 with supplementaries thereto were disposed of.


        Shri D. N Joshi, Chairman of Standing Committee on Development Departments (A), presented the First Report of the Committee relating to the Demands for grants (2000-2001) of the following departments :

(i) Agriculture.
(ii) Industries.
(iii) Health and Family Welfare.
(iv) Food & Civil Supplies.

(2) Shri B.B. Nongsiej, Chairman Standing Committee on Development Departments (B) presented the First Report of the Committee relating to the Demands for Grants (2000-2001) on behalf of Shri C.R. Marak, Chairman of the Committee, on the following departments :-

(i) Forest
(ii) Soil Conservation.
(iii) Animal Husbandry and Veterinary.

(3) Shri A.T. Mondal, Member, Standing Committee on Works Departments (C) presented the First Report of the Committee relating to the Demands for Grants (2000-2001) on behalf of Shri C.R. Marak, Chairman, of the Committee, on the following departments :-

(i) Public Works (Roads and Buildings).
(ii) Public Health Engineering.
(ii) Irrigation.
(iv) Municipal Administration.


        Shri S.C. Marak wanted to be enlightened as to how to proceed with this new system since this was the first time that the Standing Committees have submitted the reports on certain departments on the same line with other State legislatures in the country. He sought a clarification whether to discuss on the Reports submitted by the Committees or to discuss on the Demands for Grants?

        Shri D. N. Joshi, Shri H.S. Lyngdoh, Shri R.G. Lyngdoh, Shri T.N. Marak, Shri C. B. Marak, Shri T.H.  Rangad, Minister in-charge Home, Shri A.L. Hek, Minister incharge Arts and Culture, Shri R.L. Tariang, Minister incharge Border Areas, and Shri A.T. Mondal participated in the discussion and expressed individual opinion on this issue.

        However, after a protacted discussion and exchange of opinion on the subject matter, Shri E.K. Mawlong, Chief Minister clarified the position by referring to the procedure and practice in the Lok Sabha by the Standing Committees. He pointed out that after the budget has been presented in the Parliament and the discussion done, the budget was referred to the Standing Committees for a thorough study and this system was introduced in view of the fact that most of the grants could not be disposed of or discussed by the Parliament. He further cited instances whereby most of the grants could not be disposed of in the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly in the past and about 90% of them had been guillotined. 

        The Chief Minister, further informed the House that in the Parliament after the Standing Committees had submitted the reports pertaining to certain departments, the Speaker along with the Members of the Business Advisory Committee discussed on such reports and thereafter it decided on which grant cut motions should be allowed based on the permission  from the Speaker. He suggested that since today it was the first time in the Meghalaya Legislative Assembly that this new system was introduced, the usual practice of Cut Motion on Demands for grants be carried on and that the Members can refer to the policy matter of certain departments if they so desire in the course of their deliberations.

        After ascertaining the opinion of the House on this issue, the Chair, ruled that the usual procedure of the cut motion be continued and that simultaneously, the members can make a reference to the reports of the Standing Committees on policy matters only.        

        Grants Nos.1, 2, 3, 4, 5 were passed since there was no cut motion.

        Shri H.B. Dan, Minister in-charge of Revenue, moved grant No.6.

        Shri H.S. Lyngdoh moved his cut motion against this grant. He discussed at length on the style of functioning of the Revenue department.

        The Hon' ble mover of the cut motion wanted to be clarified whether there was any notification which has been notified by thee Government to declare barren land, forest land, cultivable land of grazing land and residential land respectively in the State. He suggested that proper survey should be taken up to demarcate the boundaries of the State.

        Shri P.M. Muktieh, supported the cut motion. Other members who participated and supported the cut motion were :-

        (1) Shri T. C. Lyngdoh (2) Shri J.D. Rymbai (3) Shri P.M. Syiem (4) Dr. Mukul Sangma (5) Shri D.D. Lapang Leader of Opposition (6) Shri T.N. Marak and (7) Shri A.T. Mondal. he opposed the cut motion.

        Replying to the points raised by the mover and the other participants, Shri H.B. Dan, Minister incharge of Revenue stated that the Revenue Department was entrusted with proper maintenance of the Inter State and Inter-National Boundary matters and that the difference on the Inter-State boundary matter with Assam was a long pending one and though series of meetings took place at various levels including Chief Minister's level, agreements were arrived at but no positive development concretize. However, he said that after taking over the reins of the State, the present Government initiated action with seriousness for which a meeting was held with the Chief Minister of Assam on 15.3.2000, consequent to which, both the Chief Minister had visited the border areas at Khanduli on 11.5.2000 with a view to know the ground realities themselves. Further he added that the Government also constituted a State Level Land Revenue Committee for proper monitoring of the various agreements arrived at between the two Governments with a view to have a permanent solution to the vexed boundary problem and that the Government decided to solve the problem sector-wise and with this view the problem of re-transfer of Block I and Block II has been taken first and that after having a solution to this problem the Government have decided to take up the problems of Ri-Bhoi-Khasi Hills Sectors and Garo Hills Sector with Assam in a phased manner.

        The Minister in-charge clarified to the other points raised by the mover and by the participants after which, the cut motion was withdraw by the mover with the leave of the House and Grant No.6 was passed.

        Grant No.7 was passed since there was no cut motion.


        The House rose at 2 p.m. and stood adjourned till 10 a.m. on Wednesday, the 21st June, 2000.

Meghalaya Legislative Assembly.