TUESDAY, THE 06th MAY, 2008

The House met at 10.00 am with the Hon’ble Speaker in the Chair. The day was devoted for the transaction of Government Business.


Starred Questions from 90 to 109 were disposed of.


The House passed Grant No. 1,2, and 3 since there were no cut motions.

Dr. Donkupar Roy, Chief Minister moved Grant No.4.

Shri Charles Pyngrope moved his cut motion against this demand. He referred to Article 214 of the Constitution of India whereby it was stated that a State should have a High Court of its own and was of the firmed view that the State should follow up this matter with the Government of India for a separate High Court.

Shri A. T Mondal and Dr. R. C. Laloo supported the mover of the cut motion and stressed on the need to have a separate High Court.

Replying to the cut motion, the Chief Minister informed the mover that since 1986 the matter was taken up for a permanent and separate High Court for the State. Other letters were also sent to the Union Law Minister. Further a reminder was sent to the Law Ministry on the 5th December, 2007 but no response has been received. However, the State Government will pursue this case vigorously with the Government of India.

The cut motion was then withdrawn with leave of the House and Grant No.4 was passed.

Dr. Adviser Pariong Minister in-charge moved Grant No.5 and the Chair did not admit the cut motion since the subject was not under the purview of the Election Department but under the District Council Affairs.

Grant No.5 was put to vote and passed.

Shri E. C. Bamon and Shri Manas Chaudhuri moved Grant No.6 and 7 respectively and were passed since there were no cut motions.

Shri Donkupar Massar, Minister in-charge moved Grant No.8.

Shri F. S. Cajee moved his cut motion against this demand. He was apprehensive at the consequences arising out of reckless consumption of alcohol by both sexes and ages which had created a menace to the society as a whole where many people died. He urged upon the Government to create an awareness programme in this regard to wean them away from this bad habit. He suggested to the Government to minimize issuing licenses and in the long run the benefits will atomically go to the consumers. He also opposed the licenses given to 50 ml bottle since anybody can afford to buy the same.

Dr. P. W. Khongjee supported the cut motion and felt that the amount to be passed by the House should be for constructive purposes. Shri H. D. R. Lyngdoh was in favour of legalizing country made liquor so that the Government can earn more revenue. He was also of the view that an alcohol detection devise should be set up at vulnerable places to prevent accidents. Shri R. V. Lyngdoh supported the cut motion and was in favour that 50 ml bottle should be stopped. Shri Lahkmen Rymbui also supposed the cut motion and urged the Government to introduce a controlling mechanism to reduce alcoholism.

Replying to this the Minister stated that 50 ml bottle was not feasible since it was too small to be introduced in the State. Even 180 ml was considered to be small. With regard to the regularization of illicit liquor, this will be looked into and under whose tenure this 50 ml was introduced will intimated during the session.

The cut motion was then withdrawn with leave of the House and Grant No.8 was passed.

The House passed Grant No.9 since the mover did not move his cut motion.

Shri Nimarson Momin, Minister in-charge moved Grant No.10.

Shri Charles Pyngrope moved his cut motion against this demand. The mover was taken aback at the haphazard manner the DTO office issued driving licenses to drivers who did not even know how to drive, read traffic signals or maintain the etiquettes and suggested that before the applicant is issued with a license he should fulfill all the criteria. He was also of the view that high security number plate should govern all vehicles irrespective whether they are old or new and also penalizes the offender for the smoke emanated from the vehicle which is polluting the atmosphere.

Shri Prestone Tyngsong, Shri R.V. Lyngdoh and Shri H.D.R. Lyngdoh supported and fell in line with the mover of the cut motion.

Replying to this, the Minister in-charge of Transport informed that there were two driving schools at Tura, one at Shillong and one at Jowai. He also stated that all DTOs will be issued with an instruction to issue licenses only to those who pass the test and the registration of vehicles will only be renewed as and when the number plates are eligible. To conduct an awareness programme on the overloading trucks, this will be examined. The introduction of mono rail, this will also have to examined since this is a hilly State.

With leave of the House, the cut-motion was withdrawn and Grant No.10 was passed.

Shri Conrad K. Sangma moved Grant No.11.

Shri Charles Pyngrope moved his cut motion against this demand and highlighted that many villages in his constituency are yet to be electrified and bill collection system should be improved.

Shri P.Syiem, Shri R.V. Lyngdoh and Shri Prestone Tyngsong also supported the cut motion and discussed more or less on the lines of the mover.


The House rose at 2.00 p.m. will meet again on Wednesday the 7th May, 2008 at 10.00 a.m.





Meghalaya Legislative Assembly